Sports MSD, Kohli named captains of ICC’s teams of a decade

MSD, Kohli named captains of ICC’s teams of a decade

Dubai, December 27

Mahendra Singh Dhoni was today named captain of ICC’s ODI and T20I teams of the decade, while Virat Kohli was voted the skipper of the Test team of the decade.

Indians dominated the limited-overs teams. The 39-year-old Dhoni, who retired from international cricket earlier this year, was one of the three Indians in the ODI team of the decade, the others being Rohit Sharma and Kohli.

Dhoni has three other compatriots in the T20I team – Rohit, Kohli and Jasprit Bumrah. In the Test team of the decade, senior spinner Ravichandran Ashwin is the other Indian alongside Kohli. The others players in the Test team are: England’s Alastair Cook, Ben Stokes, Stuart Broad and James Anderson, Australia’s Steve Smith and David Warner, New Zealand captain Kane Williamson, former Lanka Sri skipper Kumar Sangakkara and South African fast bowler Dale Steyn.

Kohli is the only player in the world to have been voted in the teams of the decade in all formats.

Among the women, Harmanpreet Kaur and Poonam Yadav made it to the T20I team of the decade while Mithali Raj and Jhulan Goswami were picked for the ODI team.

The teams of the decades were announced by the ICC ahead of the Awards of the Decade ceremony, to be held in virtual mode on Monday. Kohli is in the running for four awards. PTI

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *