However, this doesn’t appeal to everyone and it even sparked a wave of protests earlier this year, with some exodus to other competing apps, like Signal or Telegram.
In a blog post, WhatsApp announces that “on May 15th, the application will continue to function normally” and “no one will see their account deleted”. However, users who have not yet validated the new conditions will occasionally see a reminder. Then, in a few weeks, this request will be permanently visible and, at that time, some functions may be limited (for example, the ability to send messages).
Apparently, WhatsApp doesn’t want to do anything that might piss off its users but intends to have them wear out. This friction is indicative of the interest that users today have in their personal data. Even if, according to the company, “a majority” users have already clicked and accepted the new rules.